The Diary of a Young Girl

The Diary of a Young Girl Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank s remarkable diary has become a world classic a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit In 1942, with the Nazis occupying Holland, a thirteen year old Jewish girl and her

The Dinner

The Dinner An internationally bestselling phenomenon the darkly suspenseful, highly controversial tale of two families struggling to make the hardest decision of their lives all over the course of one meal It s a summer s evening in Amsterdam, and two couples meet at a fashionable restaurant for dinner.

The Miniaturist

The Miniaturist Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed On a

The Fault in Our Stars

The Fault in Our Stars Despite the tumor shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel s story is about to be

The Coffee Trader

The Coffee Trader The Edgar Award winning novel A Conspiracy of Paper was one of the most acclaimed debuts of 2000 In his richly suspenseful second novel, author David Liss once again travels back in time to a crucial moment in cultural and financial history His destination Amsterdam, 1659 a mysterious world of

Hans Brinker, or the Silver Skates

Hans Brinker, or the Silver Skates Gretel looked at her mother in troubled silence, wondering whether it were very wicked to care for one parent than for the other and sure, yes, quite sure, that she dreaded her father, while she clung to her mother with a love that was almost idolatry from Hans Brinker A beloved childhood

The Golden Tulip

The Golden Tulip Francesca s father is a well known painter in the bustling port city of Amsterdam he is also a gambler Though their household is in economic chaos, thankfully the lessons she learned in his studio have prepared her to study with Johannes Vermeer, the master of Delft When she arrives to begin her

Infidel

Infidel One of today s most admired and controversial political figures, Ayaan Hirsi Ali burst into international headlines following the murder of Theo van Gogh by an Islamist who threatened that she would be next She made headlines again when she was stripped of her citizenship and resigned from the

Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister

Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister We have all heard the story of Cinderella, the beautiful child cast out to slave among the ashes But what of her stepsisters, the homely pair exiled into ignominy by the fame of their lovely sibling What fate befell those untouched by beauty and what curses accompanied Cinderella s looks Set

The Last Painting of Sara de Vos

The Last Painting of Sara de Vos This is what we long for the profound pleasure of being swept into vivid new worlds, worlds peopled by characters so intriguing and real that we can t shake them, even long after the reading s done In his earlier, award winning novels, Dominic Smith demonstrated a gift for coaxing the past to

Comedy in a Minor Key

Comedy in a Minor Key A penetrating study of ordinary people resisting the Nazi occupation and, true to its title, a dark comedy of wartime manners Comedy in a Minor Key tells the story of Wim and Marie, a Dutch couple who first hide a Jew they know as Nico, then must dispose of his body when he dies of pneumonia This

The Signature of All Things

The Signature of All Things A glorious, sweeping novel of desire, ambition, and the thirst for knowledge, from the 1 New York Times bestselling author of Eat, Pray, Love and Committed In The Signature of All Things, Elizabeth Gilbert returns to fiction, inserting her inimitable voice into an enthralling story of love,

The Wheel on the School

The Wheel on the School Why do the storks no longer come to the little Dutch fishing village of Shora to nest It was Lina, one of the six schoolchildren who first asked the question, and she set the others to wondering And sometimes when you begin to wonder, you begin to make things happen So the children set out to

Refuge

Refuge Finally, a moving immigrant story that looks at the larger contemporary refugee experience An Iranian girl escapes to America as a child, but her father stays behind Over twenty years, as she transforms from confused immigrant to overachieving Westerner to sophisticated European transplant,